But First, Worship

“In everything that he undertook in the service of God’s temple and in obedience to the law and the commands, he sought his God and worked wholeheartedly. And so he prospered.”

2 Chronicles 31:21

I have sung

On praise teams and as a soloist

Singing songs of praise

Memorized psalms

Played my flute and whistles

As fast as they would go

I have sung in choirs

Found harmonies

Raised my hands

Lifting my eyes to the sky

In worship

But here sitting in the quiet

Of a late morning

Our last one at the cottage

My heart full of Scripture

I am reminded

This too is worship

Perhaps a purer and better worship

Than the other kind

The good king Hezekiah

Started his reign

By reinstituting worship

The people hungry for it

Hungry for more of God

The altars overflowed with so many sacrifices

The priests could not keep up

Unlike so many other kings of Judah

He tore down the high places

But not until first he worshipped Yahweh

The one true God

How often have I beaten myself up for idols

I am unable to remove on my own

The chocolate I still go to for comfort

But we were never intended

To tear down our idols

Without divine help

We think like pagans

That we must first remove the high places

Must get our acts together

Before we approach the throne of grace

But we have it backwards

Even though the people of Hezekiah’s day

Didn’t properly follow all the temple laws

For purification

God accepted their sacrifices

He graciously received their worship

Their seeking after Him

And then, only then, did they tear down the high places

It all began with worship

And while worship is about God

It is not about me

Perhaps it is also our fuel

What we need to be reminded

That the joy of the Lord is our strength

To fill up on the nutrients of heaven

So the junk food of our idols

Pales in comparison

Reminded that we are so very small

Compared to the strength and majesty

Of the One Living God

And so this morning I worship

I worship the God who created the finger lakes

Out of glaciers

Who made the waters so clear

You can see all the way to the bottom

Who wore down these stones

Over time

So they are smooth

I worship the God

Who gave me a kind and gentle husband

Two beautiful children

Godly parents and in-laws

And the gift of this place

Of time together

Of connection

I worship the God of Hezekiah

The God of Elisha

The God of Abraham

Who blessed them

So they could be a blessing

As he blesses me

So I can go out into the world

With a heart overflowing with Him

I worship the God of all that is good

The tender God who allowed

The wind to shift this morning

So I could enjoy one last morning on this dock

The air quality breathable again

I worship the God

Who fills my life with purpose

Reminding me even now as I prepare to leave

The peacefulness of this place

That work is a gift

A ministry

An opportunity to bless others

Something to enjoy

But not to worship

Because he alone is worthy of worship

May I remember

Even as we leave this place

It all begins with worship

It all begins and ends

Not with me

But with Him

Leave a comment